top of page
  • Fiona

Our first House and Pet Sit

Updated: Jul 4, 2021

Kilmore, East Clare, Ireland - 25th July to 09th August 2020


A lovely soft landing for us when it came to looking after other people’s pets. The homeowners were relaxed and welcoming and the two cats, Jack (black with white paws) ad Kitty (tabby with one eye) were low maintenance but with great personalities and they were even quite affectionate when they chose to be - usually most evening not long before it was time to put them out - and so we felt quite guilty having to put them out - especially when it was raining!


As you can see from the pictures below, the house was located in a rural setting in County Clare and we had fabulous views out to a stunning verdant landscape. With all the rain Alan was busy mowing the lawns and when the sun shone it was wonderful to be sitting out in the beautiful garden.


We had some surprise but welcome visitors for 2 nights. Alan’s sister Anne and her husband Alain who were holidaying in Ireland from their ‘day jobs’ at Bradfield College just outside London. It was Anne’s birthday while they were there - the first time in over 40 years that Alan was able to spend that day with her.


We also explored Limerick and went on a few country walks in the hills of East Clare.






65 views3 comments

Related Posts

See All

3 комментария


hkmtaylor
28 авг. 2020 г.

Hi Fiona, Thanks for the newsy note back. I'm glad you are able to find housesits.

So Annie is an architect! That is great news. Kitchen design is a great place to start--so many variables. (Also a bit cut-throat I believe, from a friend who did that.).

Margaret did a B.A. Psychology and then decided art preservation was her real interest, so did an advanced diploma in Museum Studies. She is working with the Govt. department which selects and provides Canadian art to Embassies and Ambassador's residences abroad. They have tens of thousands of items in their collection. She started there as an intern in January and now they've offered her full-time contracts for the next eight months. Hopefull…

Лайк

Fiona
27 авг. 2020 г.

Hello Helen and Keith - lovely to hear from you and thank you for your kind words! It is amazing how this virus has changed our lives... a good time for reflection though and for many people - a time to slow down. We are sad to hear about your sister Helen, and we are sorry for your loss - it is so hard when those we love are no longer here.


We have almost completed our second housesit - this time in London where we have also been able to spend some time with Olivia who is living here at the moment. We return to Seville on Monday and then down to the coast to Cadiz where we inten…


Лайк

hkmtaylor
17 авг. 2020 г.

I am enjoying your interesting posts and getting to travel with you virtually while we are stuck at home. The photos are great!

Glad you had such a pleasant house and petsit. It looks like an interesting house architecture. Are there others like that? It must be a welcome break, especially from all the COVID-19 safety precautions elsewhere in your travels. That weather forecast is amazing--rain, rain and more rain. The landscape and garden look beautiful, though. My eldest sister has been house and pet sitting for the past ten years, by the way. It's a great way to save on housing and see new areas.

Here in Ottawa it's been a beautiful August. Everyone being very careful about socia…


Лайк
bottom of page